

November 10, 2010

MECENED

NOV 1 5 2010

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Mr. Jeff Derouen Executive Director Public Service Commission 211 Sower Blvd. Frankfort, KY 40601

Dear Mr. Derouen

We are writing today to collectively applaud the Kentucky Public Service Commission for issuing an order to address our state's outdated telecom access subsidy system. This is a positive step forward and we urge the PSC to act quickly on this matter.

Understanding what is at stake, other states have already taken action in reforming their access rate systems. Now, Kentucky has the opportunity to create a modern access system that is transparent to consumers, fair to everyone and sustainable given 21st century technology trends.

Our access rate system worked well when Kentuckians communicated primarily through traditional long-distance phone calls. But, times have changed and we now use wireless and broadband technologies more than ever before. This shift has made the current access subsidy model outdated and unsustainable.

We urge the PSC to move quickly in updating the current system. Access rate reform is needed now to ensure future rural connectivity, encourage investment (and adoption) in high-speed networks, grow jobs and ensure that all Kentuckians can benefit from next-generation technology.

Sincerely,

Sincerely,

Dave Adkisson

President and CEO

Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

Wave Adkisson

Joe Reagan

President and CEO

Greater Louisville Inc - The Metro Chamber of

Ape Reaga

Commerce

Isa Shabazz

Communications Workers of America

Ben Richmond President and CEO Louisville Urban League

Jody Wassmer

President

Lance Allison
Executive Director

State Director

Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce

Duganne Morshen Blazar

Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce

Hamund Juneles

Suzanne Northern Blazar Chairman of the Board

Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce

Hayward Spinks
President
Ohio County Industrial Foundation

Down by Whi

Pat Wallace

Executive Director

Henry County Chamber of Commerce

t Wallace

Dorothy White Executive Director Bardstown-Nelson County Chamber of Commerce

Carter Hendricks
President and CEO

Hopkinsville-Christian County Chamber of Commerce

Helen Sims Chair of the Board

Helen Sims

Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce

David Richey President

Greater Muhlenberg Chamber of Commerce

Brad Schneider President

Henderson-Henderson County Chamber of Commerce

November 10, 2010 Page 3 of 3

Duce Camenti

Bruce Carpenter **Executive Director** Southern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce Delira Bothmann

Debra Boehmann

President

Ohio County Chamber of Commerce

Mendi Boble

Mendi Goble **Executive Director** Richmond Chamber of Commerce Cathy Robertson **Executive Director**

Cayley Robertson

Lyndon Area Business Association

Viel mle

I Michael Lerros

Mike Perros President Danville-Boyle County Chamber of Commerce Nicholas Brake President

Greater Owensboro Economic Development Corporation

Jun 17. Meff

Brian Mefford Chief Executive Officer **Connected Nation**

Chra W. Clarke

Cara W. Clarke President

Maysville-Mason County Area Chamber of Commerce

Steve Stevens President

Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

cc: All Members of the Kentucky General Assembly